Anyone entering Hawaii from the US Mainland is subject to a 14-day self-quarantine requirement unless specifically exempted by the state government. This has been the case since March 2020.
Until now, it was unlikely that someone violating the quarantine would face serious consequences unless there were unusual circumstances. For example, the mom who had been stuck at home with the kids and just had to get a break and go to the beach for a few hours would probably get a deal for a non-criminal violation or maybe even a dismissal. On the other side of the coin, someone who had been repeatedly warned and flaunted the quarantine could see some jail time or fines.
All that has changed. A prosecuting attorney just told me that Hawaii prosecutors are now under a directive to prosecute all quarantine violators to the fullest. So that means the threat of up to a year in jail and a fine of $5,000 is now very real!
If you are accused of violating the Hawaii self-quarantine, hire an attorney to represent you even before your first court appearance.